27
Aug
10

The Sheathed Sword, Storytelling style!

I gave a talk at my church, The Bridge of Portland, OR, on August 15. It was based on my post here, The Sheathed Sword, but expanded and elaborated into a dramatic storytelling extravaganza! It was quite fun and rewarding.

Afterward my friend Mimi Schaper very helpfully ran a Q&A session, something I wouldn’t have had the presence of mind to do. Thanks, Mimi! This allowed some valuable feedback and deeper exploration of the potent issues raised while allowing the storytelling to maintain its own integrity:

I’m very pleased with the talk and its supportive reception. Sharing my experience in that environment provoked me to think hard about the growth and healing aspects of it, and internalize those lessons more deeply. It also prompted me to investigate how my story relates to Yeshua’s radical Logos of love and equality which stands against Civilization’s logos of slavery and violence. Which was an exciting exploration in itself!

Enjoy the videos, everyone! I look forward to your comments.

Peace,

—Joel

3 Responses to “The Sheathed Sword, Storytelling style!”


  1. 1 Hans Otterson
    August 28, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    Oh man, I wish I had known this was happening! I would’ve come.

  2. 2 Joel
    August 28, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Yeah, I feel stupid for not inviting you! Oh well, I guess we’ll have to console ourselves with video.


Leave a Reply

Archives


